What is the difference between "Disabled" and "Delete" for Department and Job Titles?

Disabled departments and job titles are not available to be assigned to new employees but the employees that are already assigned those departments/job titles will not be affected.

On the other hand, if a departments and/or a job title is not in any use, you can delete it.